## Texas Heart Institute Medal and the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases

ay C. Fish (1902-1962) was a leading figure in Houston's natural gas industry and a philanthropist. He believed in the American dream of "opportunity for success." The Ray C. Fish Foundation was established so that others might be encouraged to broaden man's self-knowledge and to keep the American dream alive. After its founder's death from heart disease, the Fish Foundation granted \$5 million to make the Texas Heart Institute a reality. For this reason, the Institute's highest professional award is given in honor of this extraordinary man. The award recognizes those whose innovations have made significant contributions to cardiovascular medicine and surgery.

The first Texas Heart Institute Medal and Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases were presented in 1972 to Dr. Norman Shumway.



Delos (Toby) Cosgrove, MD

Since 1972, 35 other highly deserving recipients have been so honored by the Institute. The complete roll of recipients appears on the next page.

## Delos M. Cosgrove, MD

Dr. Delos (Toby) Cosgrove is president and chief executive officer of the Cleveland Clinic. He heads a \$6 billion healthcare system that comprises Cleveland Clinic, 8 community hospitals, 16 family health and surgery centers, Cleveland Clinic Florida, Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health (Las Vegas), Cleveland Clinic Toronto, and Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi.

Dr. Cosgrove received his medical degree from the University of Virginia School of Medicine and completed training at Massachusetts General Hospital and at Brook General Hospital in London. He earned his undergraduate degree from Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts. In 1967, he was a surgeon in the U.S. Air Force, serving in Da Nang, Vietnam. He was awarded the Bronze Star and Republic of Vietnam Commendation Medal.

Dr. Cosgrove joined the Cleveland Clinic in 1975 and was named Chairman of the Department of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery in 1989. He performed more than 22,000 operations and earned international recognition in cardiac valve surgery before his retirement in 2006. He holds 30 patents for medical innovations.

He has received numerous awards and is ranked among *Modern Healthcare's* "100 most powerful people in healthcare" and "most powerful physician executives." His book, *The Cleveland Clinic Way*, was published by McGraw-Hill Education in 2014.

© 2016 by the Texas Heart® Institute, Houston

## **ROLL OF RECIPIENTS**

of the Texas Heart Institute Medal and the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases

1972	Norman E. Shumway
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart
	Transplantation)
1973	F. Mason Sones, Jr.
	Cardiology (Coronary
	Angiography)
1974	Eugene E. Braunwald
	Physiology (Myocardial Preservation)
1975	Willem J. Kolff
	Cardiovascular Surgery
	(Artificial Organs)
1976	Harvey Feigenbaum
	Cardiology (Echocardiography)
1977	John W. Kirklin
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart-Lung
	Machines)
1978	Bernard Lown
1070	Cardiology (Cardiac Arrhythmias)
1979	John J. Gallagher and William C. Sealy
	(co-recipients)
	Cardiology and Cardiovascular Surgery
1980	(Surgery for Pre-Excitation)
1980	<b>W. Proctor Harvey</b> Cardiology ( <i>Clinical Practice and Teaching</i> )
1981	Paul M. Zoll
1701	Cardiology (Pacemaking)
1983	Andreas R. Grüntzig
1705	Cardiology (Percutaneous Transluminal
	Coronary Angioplasty)
1984	Hein J.J. Wellens and Douglas P. Zipes
1701	(co-recipients)
	Cardiology (Diagnosis and Management
	of Pediatric Cardiac Arrhythmias)
1985	Denton A. Cooley
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Surgery for
	Congenital Heart Disease, Aneurysms
	of the Aorta, and Implantation of the
	Artificial Heart)
1986	William J. Rashkind
	Pediatric Cardiology (Nonsurgical Treatment of
	Congenital Heart Disease)
1987	Dwight E. Harken
1000	Cardiovascular Surgery (Intracardiac Surgery)
1988	J. Willis Hurst
1000	Cardiology (Writing and Teaching)
1989	Robert J. Hall
1000	Cardiology (Clinical Practice and Teaching)
1990	Sol Sherry
1002	Cardiology ( <i>Thrombolytic Therapy</i> ) Arthur S. Keats
1992	
1997	Cardiovascular Anesthesiology Aldo R. Castañeda
177/	Pediatric Cardiovascular Surgery
	i culattic Calulovasculai Sulgery

1997	<b>Julio C. Palmaz</b> Radiology <i>(Endovascular Stents)</i>
1998	<b>Magdi Yacoub</b> Cardiovascular Surgery ( <i>Heart-Lung</i> <i>Transplantation</i> )
1999	<b>Thomas J. Fogarty</b> Cardiovascular Surgery ( <i>Medical and</i> <i>Surgical Devices</i> )
2004	<b>James L. Cox</b> Cardiovascular Surgery <i>(Surgery for</i> <i>Atrial Fibrillation)</i>
2004	<b>Stephen Westaby</b> Cardiovascular Surgery (First Clinical Trial of Axial-Flow Devices for Destination Therapy and Significant Contributions to the Surgical Literature)
2007	<b>Charles E. Mullins</b> Pediatric Cardiology ( <i>Teaching and Pioneering</i> <i>Work in Interventional Techniques for Congenital</i> <i>Heart Disease</i> )
2008	<b>O.H. Frazier</b> Cardiovascular Surgery ( <i>Heart Transplantation</i> <i>and Research and Development of the Left</i> <i>Ventricular Assist Device</i> )
2009	James T. Willerson Cardiology (Pioneering Work in Unstable Atherosclerotic Plaques, Acute Coronary Syndromes, and Cardiac Stem Cells)
2010	<b>Charles D. Fraser, Jr.</b> Cardiovascular Surgery (Development of a Program Known for Its Effectiveness in Correcting Congenital Cardiovascular Disease in Children)
2011	<b>Patrick W. Serruys</b> Interventional Cardiology (Major Contributions to Interventional Cardiology, Including Those to the Development of Both Bare-Metal and Drug- Eluting Stents)
2012	George J. Reul Cardiac and Vascular Surgery (Development of an Accredited Vascular Lab at SLEH; Leader in Quality Measures)
2013	Alain G. Cribier Interventional Cardiology (First Balloon Dilation of Aortic Valve for Calcific Aortic Stenosis, 1985; and First Implantation of a Prosthetic Aortic Valve via Cardiac Catheterization, 2002)
2014	<b>Terence English</b> Cardiovascular Surgery <i>(Establishing Heart Transplantation Program in England)</i>
2015	<b>Delos M. Cosgrove</b> Cardiovascular Surgery ( <i>Significant Contribu-</i> <i>tions to Cardiac Valve Repair</i> )

109 http://prime-pdf-watermark.prime-prod.pubfactory.com/ | 2025-02-05