## Texas Heart Institute Medal and the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases

ay C. Fish (1902-1962) was a leading figure in Houston's natural gas industry and a philanthropist. He believed in the American dream of "opportunity for success." The Ray C. Fish Foundation was established so that others might be encouraged to broaden man's self-knowledge and to keep the American dream alive. After its founder's death from heart disease, the Fish Foundation granted \$5 million to make the Texas Heart Institute a reality. For this reason, the Institute's highest professional award is given in honor of this extraordinary man. The award recognizes those whose innovations have made significant contributions to cardiovascular medicine and surgery.



Alain G. Cribier, MD, FACC

The first Texas Heart Institute Medal and Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases were pre-

sented in 1972 to Dr. Norman Shumway. Since 1972, 33 other highly deserving recipients have been so honored by the Institute. The complete Roll of Recipients appears on the next page.

## Prof. Alain G. Cribier, MD, FACC

The 2013 Fish Award recipient is Alain G. Cribier, for his outstanding contributions to interventional cardiology. Prof. Cribier was for 20 years chief of cardiology at Charles Nicolle Hospital, University of Rouen, France. Since 2011, he has served as professor emeritus and as a medical consultant. He is a graduate of the University of Paris, where he decided to specialize in cardiology. After a fellowship at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, he joined the department of cardiology at Charles Nicolle Hospital, where he took charge of the interventional cardiology unit.

Prof. Cribier is most widely recognized for having performed the first balloon dilation of the aortic valve for the treatment of calcific aortic stenosis (1985) and, after 10 years of research, the first implantation of an aortic valve prosthesis using cardiac catheterization (2002). This last innovation has opened a revolutionary, and less invasive, way of treating aortic stenosis in patients at high risk for conventional surgery. Greatly criticized during its early phase, the procedure is today recognized as a breakthrough, with a durable effect on medical practice.

Another Cribier achievement has been the development of a new technique for percutaneous dilation of the mitral valve with a metallic commissurotomy device, which improves the cost-efficacy of treating mitral stenosis in developing countries, where the disease is endemic.

In 2012, Prof. Cribier received the most recognized French national distinction: the Legion of Honor.

© 2014 by the Texas Heart® Institute, Houston

## **ROLL OF RECIPIENTS**

of the Texas Heart Institute Medal and the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases

1972	Norman E. Shumway
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart
	Transplantation)
1973	F. Mason Sones, Jr.
	Cardiology (Coronary
	Angiography)
1974	Eugene E. Braunwald
-> / -	Physiology (Myocardial Preservation)
1975	Willem J. Kolff
1)/)	Cardiovascular Surgery
	(Artificial Organs)
1976	Harvey Feigenbaum
1)/0	Cardiology (Echocardiography)
1077	John W. Kirklin
1977	
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart-Lung
1079	Machines)
1978	Bernard Lown
1070	Cardiology (Cardiac Arrhythmias)
1979	John J. Gallagher and William C. Sealy
	(co-recipients)
	Cardiology and Cardiovascular Surgery
1000	(Surgery for Pre-Excitation)
1980	W. Proctor Harvey
	Cardiology (Clinical Practice and Teaching)
1981	Paul M. Zoll
	Cardiology (Pacemaking)
1983	Andreas R. Grüntzig
	Cardiology (Percutaneous Transluminal
	Coronary Angioplasty)
1984	Hein J.J. Wellens and Douglas P. Zipes
	(co-recipients)
	Cardiology (Diagnosis and Management
	of Pediatric Cardiac Arrhythmias)
1985	Denton A. Cooley
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Surgery for
	Congenital Heart Disease, Aneurysms
	of the Aorta, and Implantation of the
	Artificial Heart)
1986	William J. Rashkind
	Pediatric Cardiology (Nonsurgical Treatment of
	Congenital Heart Disease)
1987	Dwight E. Harken
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Intracardiac Surgery)
1988	J. Willis Hurst
	Cardiology (Writing and Teaching)
1989	Robert J. Hall
	Cardiology (Clinical Practice and Teaching)
1990	Sol Sherry
	Cardiology (Thrombolytic Therapy)

1992	Arthur S. Keats
	Cardiovascular Anesthesiology
1997	Aldo R. Castañeda
	Pediatric Cardiovascular Surgery
1997	Julio C. Palmaz
	Radiology (Endovascular Stents)
1998	Magdi Yacoub
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart-Lung
	Transplantation)
1999	Thomas J. Fogarty
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Medical and
	Surgical Devices)
2004	James L. Cox
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Surgery for
	Atrial Fibrillation)
2004	Stephen Westaby
	Cardiovascular Surgery (First Clinical Trial of
	Axial-Flow Devices for Destination Therapy
	and Significant Contributions to the Surgical
	Literature)
2007	Charles E. Mullins
	Pediatric Cardiology (Teaching and Pioneering
	Work in Interventional Techniques for Congenital
2000	Heart Disease)
2008	O.H. Frazier
	Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart Transplantation
	and Research and Development of the Left Ventricular Assist Device)
2009	James T. Willerson
2009	Cardiology (Pioneering Work in Unstable
	Atherosclerotic Plaques, Acute Coronary
	Syndromes, and Cardiac Stem Cells)
2010	Charles D. Fraser, Jr.
2010	Cardiovascular Surgery (Development of a
	Program Known for Its Effectiveness in Correcting
	Congenital Cardiovascular Disease in Children)
2011	Patrick W. Serruys
2011	Interventional Cardiology (Major Contributions
	to Interventional Cardiology, Including Those to
	the Development of Both Bare-Metal and Drug-
	Eluting Stents)
2012	George J. Reul
	Cardiac and Vascular Surgery (Development of
	an Accredited Vascular Lab at SLEH; Leader in
	Quality Measures)
2013	Alain G. Cribier
	Interventional Cardiology (First Balloon Dilation
	of Aortic Valve for Calcific Aortic Stenosis, 1985;
	and First Implantation of a Prosthetic Aortic Valve
	via Cardiac Catheterization, 2002)